Commonplace

IMG_2805

This Instagram post really stuck out to me. This movement goes beyond the classroom. I am participating in this outside of making hypothetical ads, so seeing the use of red bricks was inspiring to me. Miami is known for their brick roads and buildings, so this design is perfect to execute here. I appreciate the message it sends as well. “Speak up” is important because it grabs the attention of the passerby, as well as the bright red sand. The block capital letters are attention getting and action provoking. Simple phrases such as that go a long way with raising awareness.

The YouTube video created by Molly Gochman, the artist mastermind behind the project, was also very inspiring to me. The video opens up with eerie and foggy clouds over a city seen through a moving vehicle. Gochman encourages the audience it is okay to question our surroundings to identify the problems and solutions. She describes sidewalk cracks as vulnerabilities that go unnoticed. Most people walk right over them and don’t give it a second thought. She feels the need to put energy into it things unnoticed and get it some attention, to help raise the awareness for things right under our noses, such as sidewalk cracks. This might be more useful for my video project.

I really like the way Gochman words things, and the way she says things sounds casual, as if she really just thought of these really well worded phrases off the top of her head. “Life leathers us through experiences and dulls our sensations. I want to create opportunities for people to soften and feel” She wants people to stop and feel. She’s inviting people to join her in a quiet way.

The music is fast and almost a little distracting. I understand it is to support the idea of urgency. I like it and could use something like it for my introduction, but I’m not sure I would use it throughout.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=131&v=xOCwOmHv3gA

Leave a comment