Booth

I always forget that gestures such as raising eyebrows or sticking up a middle finger at someone could be classified as rhetoric. I think sometimes I’m stuck in the ways of the old philosophers thinking it is spoken word, but I also immediately classify writings. I found it interesting that Booth says rhetoric made civilization possible.

From this I gather that in the past we defined rhetoric as all about speaking eloquently and forming good arguments. The definitions from the 1900’s have changed dramatically from the definitions of the past. Now rhetoric seems so complex and almost undefinable as there are so many components.

I like that he thinks rhetoric should be used for good since a lot of times it has a negative connotation. He is open to communication and puts the emphasis on thinking about ones’ own argument and thoughts.

 

Leave a comment